Possible Function of Wisdom Teeth

Home Free Dental Consultation Ask A Dentist Possible Function of Wisdom Teeth

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Julian

What is the possible function of wisdom teeth? The process of evolution always intrigues me. Darwin’s theory, and the process of constant evolution, has grabbed my attention since I was in middle school.

Long story short, I am a student of biology and today I learnt about human dentition. When my teacher said that we have 32 teeth naturally, but due to evolution, only a few per cent of the total population has complete dentition, it got me confused.

She said that wisdom teeth are more like accessories now, and the people who get their third molars have to get them extracted mostly.

So now my question is, why do we not have third molars? What is the reason behind their sudden absence? And what could be the possible function of wisdom teeth in natural dentition?

I asked my teacher this, but she said that it is a complicated process and out of my course. I know I can’t rest until I get the answers, kindly help me.

#911 Reply
    Reeha Amin

Before we define possible function of wisdom teeth, what your teacher said is totally correct. Yes, only a small ratio of population has the complete dentition. And, this process of evolution is in fact quite complicated. But don’t you worry, we’ve got you covered. I will try to explain this process in a simplified manner.

You see, third molars didn’t disappear suddenly. It took a long and slow process to get to the current state. And although it is complex, there are still some possibilities of how this may have happened.